Mir Passes + AP Iridium Article

Mir16609@aol.com
Sun, 27 Sep 1998 13:06:56 EDT

Hello All.

I'm in the middle of a series of Mir passes

Pass 1 (http://members.aol.com/mir16609/mir0924.bmp) was at 20:00 EDT, 24
September (00:00 UT, 25 September) was a solid -2 mag even though The Mir was
only about 20 deg above the horizon.

Pass 2 (http://members.aol.com/mir16609/mir0925.bmp) should have been the
best.  I caught a glimpse of it in a break in the clouds as it passed directly
overhead.

Pass 3 (http://members.aol.com/mir16609/mir0926.bmp) was at 19:26 EDT, 26
September (23:26 UT, 26 September) was a -1 mag except for a 2-3 second flare
to a -3 at 23:26:50 UT.

Pass 4 (http://members.aol.com/mir16609/mir0926a.bmp) was at 21:00 EDT, 26
September (01:00 UT, 27 September) was about a +1.5 mag low in the West with
an earth shadow entry at the handle of the big dipper.

This evening at 19:56 EDT I will attempt to make the 1st Mir observation from
the new football stadium in Baltimore.  Although there will be plenty of
ambient light I should be well above the haze :-(.

--------------------------

Today the Associated Press released a story about Iridium flares.  Several
SeeSat'er were referenced.   The article may be found at:
http://wire.ap.org/APnews/center_story.html?FRONTID=NATIONAL&STORYID=APIS6O762
M00

Typically local newspapers include these wire service stories so you might
want to check you local paper tomorrow.

Cheers
Don Gardner
Homepage: http://members.aol.com/mir16609/
76.8419 W, 39.1796 N,  34m ASL