Re: Last Orbit landing profile for Soyuz TM34

From: Vitek, Antonin (avitek@lib.cas.cz)
Date: Sat Nov 09 2002 - 21:56:20 EST

  • Next message: Kevin Fetter: "88077A piece"

    Tristan Cools wrote:
    > 
    > At 16:34 9/11/02 +0100, you wrote:
    > 
    > Bram,
    > 
    > >always happened, while the "space ship" was travelling in the ascending
    > >branch,
    > >meaning travelling to the point with highest northern latitude.
    > 
    > You are probably right Bram.  I cannot recall a Soyuz landing traveling
    > into a descending direction.
    > 
    > >
    > >If this is true than 0501GMT looks unlikely to me and 0300UTC would be more
    > >likely.
    > 
    > If it was 0300UTC it could have been possible(I presume) to see a Soyuz
    > Reentry over our region.
    > 
    > Landing time information came from:
    > 
    > http://www.newsfromspace.com/missions/soyuz/tma1/
    > 
    > but at the NASA home page you can read:
    > 
    > "The three-member Soyuz 5 crew is scheduled to undock the Soyuz TM-34
    > spacecraft from the station at 2:41 p.m. CST (2041 GMT) Saturday, leaving
    > behind the Soyuz TMA-1 spacecraft that it delivered to the station last
    > week. Soyuz 5 is scheduled to land in Kazakhstan at 6:04 p.m. CST Saturday
    > (0004 GMT Sunday). NASA TV will cover undocking activities, beginning at 2
    > p.m. CST (2000 GMT)."
    > 
    According to 
    
    http://www.mcc.rsa.ru/MKS/sojuztma1/4.htm
    
    (which is one of the pages created by TsUP Korolev) the landing of Soyuz
    is planned on 2000-11-10 cca. 03:00 Moscow Decree Time = 00:00 UTC. The
    page contans (in Russian) short description of activities during the
    whole visiting crew flight, but was published on their launch day.
    
    This is in general accordance with the timeline 
    
    http://www.spaceflightnow.com/station/stage11a/021109count/
    
    published today. Landing is predicted for 2002-11-09 19:05 EST =
    2002-11-10 00:05 UTC.
    
    
    -- 
    Mgr. Antonin Vitek, CSc.
    Office: Main Library, Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic
      Narodni 3, CZ-11522 Praha 1 - Phone: +420/221 403 255, fax +420/224
    240 611
    Home: Kytin 127, CZ-25210 Mnisek p. B., Czech Republic
    Phone: +420/318 592 865, cell +420/603 148 201 - Coord.: 14.2194 deg E,
    49.8488 deg N, 442 m ASL
    My satellite home page: http://www.lib.cas.cz/www/space.40/index.html
    FOR SENDING VOLUMINOUS APPENDED FILES (greater than 250 KB) 
    USE ALTERNATE ADDRESS: vitek1@lib.cas.cz 
    and notify me at avitek@lib.cas.cz
    
    -----------------------------------------------------------------
    Unsubscribe from SeeSat-L by sending a message with 'unsubscribe'
    in the SUBJECT to SeeSat-L-request@lists.satellite.eu.org
    http://www.satellite.eu.org/seesat/seesatindex.html
    



    This archive was generated by hypermail 2b29 : Sat Nov 09 2002 - 13:06:51 EST