Iridium 14 Obs

Mir16609@aol.com
Wed, 4 Nov 1998 22:04:48 EST

Hello everyone.

For the tumbling Iridium objects, I'll normally I'll report a center time of 3
to 5 negative magnitude flashes.   This has been the case for Iridium 11, 14
and 20.    This evening  due to conflicts, I first observed Iridium 14 at
18:05:00 EST (23:05:00 UTC) on a south to north pass when it was nearly
directly overhead.   It began giving a series of negative magnitude flashes at
18:05:24 EST (23:05:24 UTC) and continues about every 6 seconds until 18:06:30
EST (23:06:30 UTC).   If there were a "brightest flash" it occurred at 12
seconds after the beginning.   I estimated the magnitude to be -3 or brighter
for each of the flashes.   

Cosmos 2333 Rk (24298)
The flash period of this object can now be measured with an hour glass.   I
observed only 5 minima over 120 seconds beginning at 18:10:00 EST (23:10:00
UTC).   

Iridium 13 made a nice -1 magnitude flare at 17:58:41 EST (22:38:41 UTC)

Cheers
Don Gardner
Homepage: http://hometown.aol.com/mir16609/
76.8419 W, 39.1796 N,  34m ASL