NOSS 2-3 r Obs. and OFEQ 3

Mir16609 (Mir16609@aol.com)
Fri, 22 May 1998 23:56:37 EDT

Hello All,

Using the following elset:
NOSS 2-3 r        10    3    0 4.8               450 x 337
1 23907U 96029B   98138.04705309  .00032000  00000-0  35998-3 0    09
2 23907  63.4295 186.3327 0083001 139.2913 220.7087 15.57912507    00
NOSS 2-3 r was still running a bit late.  It passed under Spica at 21:27:18
EDT (01:27:18 UT) about 20 seconds late.  Still, it was hard to miss -
reaching about a +2.0 mag and visible at 1X until it approached Vega.

"Wrong Way" OFEQ 3 (23549, 95018A) is making a series of visible passes over
the Eastern USA this weekend.  It's not only a "fast mover" but it's in a
severe retrograde orbit (143.35 deg) and at mag 4.5-5.0 it fairly easy to
spot.  This evening it appeaerd over Spica at 22:10:40 EDT (02:10:40 UT) and
was passing under alpha-Leo just 80 seconds later.  

Cheers.
Don Gardner
Homepage: http://members.aol.com/mir16609/
76.8419 W, 39.1796 N,  34m ASL