Iridium 20 Flash Points and Other Obs

Bart De Pontieu (Mir16609@aol.com)
Sun, 21 Jun 1998 00:31:15 EDT

Hello All.

Iridium 20 (24871) gave 3 series of flashes {hope that flashes is the correct
term :-)} this evening.

The first occurred between 21:44:05 and 21:44:09 EDT (01:44:05 and 01:44:09
UT). There were about 4 flashes between +1 and 0 mag as it passes between eta-
UMa and Arcturus.  The second occurred between 21:45:51 and 21:45:53 EDT
(01:45:51 and 01:45:53 UT). There were 2 or 3 flashes at about a +1 mag.   The
third series occurred at 21:47:25 and 21:47:30 EDT (01:47:25 and 01:47:30 UT).
There were 4 flashes in the 0 mag range.  

USA129 was about 1:15 early from the following elset:
USA 129           15    3    0 5.1               1026 x 254
1 24680U 96072A   98144.91223207  .00012000  00000-0  99163-4 0    04
2 24680  97.9590 205.2914 0550004 274.4818  85.5180 14.76748784    05
I observed it passing about 2 degrees under eta-Draco at 22:02:15 EDT
[02:02:15 UT] (vs 22:03:30 EDT and about 2 degrees above eta-Draco
predicted).

Using the following elset:
NOSS 2-3 r        10    3    0 4.8               448 x 338
1 23907U 96029B   98145.10736977  .00022000  00000-0  24695-3 0    00
2 23907  63.4295 160.8313 0081001 138.6318 221.3682 15.58161161    03
NOSS 2-3 r was off-line and late.  I observed it passing about 3 deg to the
left of beta-UMa at 21:52:03 EDT (01:52:03 UT).  It then passed about 2 deg
above Arcturus at 21:52:49 EDT (01:52:48 UT).

DMSP B5D2-7 (23233) flared to a +1 mag at 21:29:10 EDT (01:29:10 UT).

Iridium 40 Flared to a +1 Mag (0 mag predicted).  

Cheers.
Don Gardner
Homepage: http://members.aol.com/mir16609/
76.8419 W, 39.1796 N,  34m ASL