Re: New elset for Lacrosse 2 r + Iridium 20

Grzegorz Koralewski (Mir16609@aol.com)
Sun, 14 Jun 1998 23:13:44 EDT

In a message dated 6/14/98 7:12:51 AM EDT, r.kracht@elmshorn.netsurf.de
writes:

> Lacrosse 2 r     9.8  3.0  0.0  4.8 v
>  1 21148U 91017  B 98164.92010428  .00027616  00000-0  29752-3 0    01
>  2 21148  67.9770 210.7427 0049000 313.5318  54.3743 15.61867540    03

The Titan IV r/b was within 5 seconds of on-time from this elset.  I was just
using a hand drawn plot but it passed a few degrees over gamma-Aqu at about
21:53:50 EDT (01:53:50 UT)  

Iridium 20 (#24871) had an interesting pass.  It gave a series of flashes that
seemed to repeat on a 1 second cycle.  One flash was obviously brighter than
the rest in each cycle.   Then, around 21:45:40 EDT (01:45:40 UT) it gave off
a series of 4-6 flashes in the -1 to -3 range.   For the balance of the pass I
followed it with my 12x50s and saw no additional flashes.

Cheers.
Don Gardner
Homepage: http://members.aol.com/mir16609/
76.8419 W, 39.1796 N,  34m ASL