SL-16 R/B - Bright Flasher (One More Time)

Donald (Mir16609@aol.com)
Mon, 13 Jul 1998 23:45:53 EDT

Hello all,

I realize that this posting will sound like yesterday's posting but after 3
passes with similar observations.....

SL-16 R/B (a.k.a. Zenit 2, 25400, 98043G) emerged from (exited from ?) the
earths shadow at about 22:51:45 EDT (02:51:45 UT; 14 July), passing to the
right of alpha-Oph at about 22:52:45 EDT.  It seamed to be steady at a +1.5 to
2.0 mag.   It passes directly overhead and soon became a flasher again.  At
22:53:50 EDT I began to notice the flashing at about an 8 sec period (+3.0 ->
inv).  

All 3 passes were northbound passes.  In all 3 passes the flashing seemed to
begin in the northern half of the sky.  On my first observation (21:58 EDT 11
July; 01:58 UT, 12 July; northbound but in the eastern sky) I did not note the
flashing.

I understand from Mike McCant's post last week that it is common for these
object to tumble after releasing their payload(s).   Anyone else note the
flashing?

Cheers.
Don Gardner
Homepage: http://members.aol.com/mir16609/
76.8419 W, 39.1796 N,  34m ASL