SL-16 R/B - Bright Flasher

Jeff (Mir16609@aol.com)
Sun, 12 Jul 1998 23:44:57 EDT

Hello all,

SL-16 R/B (a.k.a Zenit 2, 25400, 98043G) would appear to be a nice bright
flasher like Cosmos 2333 R/B (24298).  At 23:15 EDT (03:15 UT) I observed the
R/B in the SW at about a +2 mag.  At 1x it seemed to fluctuate in brightness
slightly from +2.0 to +2.5.  As it passed over Arcturus at At 23:17 EDT (03:17
UT, 13 July) , the flashing was more noticeable (+3.0 to +5.0) with a period
of about 8 seconds.  

Cheers.
Don Gardner
Homepage: http://members.aol.com/mir16609/
76.8419 W, 39.1796 N,  34m ASL