New Russian Stuff

Ron Lee (Mir16609@aol.com)
Sun, 12 Jul 1998 01:51:50 EDT

Hello All.

This evening was reasonably clear for Maryland.   The translation of this
statement: 6.0 mag is the limit for more than 20 deg. above the horizon.
Anything below 20 deg. above the horizon needs to be about a 3.0 mag to be
observed..

Of the recent Cosmos launches I could not detect the following passes:
Cosmos 2354 (at 00:10 EDT; 04:10 UT; 12 July)
Cosmos 2353 (at 21:45 EDT 11 July; 01:45 UT, 12 July)
Cosmos 2353 (at 23:40 EDT 11 July; 03:40 UT, 12 July)
Cosmos 2352 (at 22:36 EDT 11 July; 02:36 UT, 12 July)
Resurs O  (at 23:42 EDT 11 July; 03:42 UT, 12 July)
Cosmos 2357 (at 23:53 EDT 11 July; 03:53 UT, 12 July)

The following were bright enough for observation:
Cosmos 2347 (at 21:37 EDT 11 July; 01:37 UT, 12 July) about a 2.0 mag.
Cosmos 2356 (at 23:22 EDT 11 July; 03:22 UT, 12 July) 4.5 to 5.0 mag
Cosmos 2354 (at 22:12 EDT 11 July; 02:12 UT, 12 July) about a 6.0 mag - very
dim
Resurs O  (at 22:01 EDT 11 July; 02:01 UT, 12 July) about a 5.0 mag
Resurs O Rk (SL-16 R/B, # 25400)  (at 21:58 EDT 11 July; 01:58 UT, 12 July)
about a 2.5 mag - easily visible at 1x
Resurs O Rk (SL-16 R/B, # 25400)  (at 23:39 EDT 11 July; 03:39 UT, 12 July)
about a 2.5 mag - easily visible at 1x but this time flashing at about a 9
seond period.

In the interest of equal time:
USA 129 was about 15 seconds late for it's (21:40 EDT 11 July; 01:40 UT, 12
July) pass using the following elset:
USA 129           15    3    0 5.1
1 24680U 96072A   98185.14270857  .00022000  00000-0  17989-3 0    03
2 24680  97.9830 245.2997 0544004 140.0399 219.9600 14.78227871    03
It passed below Altair at 21:40:35 EDT.

Cheers.
Don Gardner
Homepage: http://members.aol.com/mir16609/
76.8419 W, 39.1796 N,  34m ASL