Re: STS-107 from Mt. Hamilton pictures posted

From: Rick Baldridge (rickbaldridge@msn.com)
Date: Sun Feb 02 2003 - 19:01:42 EST

  • Next message: Robert Schuette: "Space Shuttle Columbia Lost"

    Sunday 4:00pm PST
    ________________________
    
    Just found out my YAHOO PHOTOS account is all screwed up again.  This
    happened last week as well and took them a day to fix.
    
    Be patient and try back again later.  The images are there -- they just have
    to UNLOCK something!
    
    Thanks.
    
    RICK BALDRIDGE
    
    
    
    ----- Original Message -----
    From: "Rick Baldridge" <rickbaldridge@msn.com>
    To: <SeeSat-L@lists.satellite.eu.org>; "PAS, YahooGroups"
    <pastro@yahoogroups.com>
    Cc: "Brian Baldridge" <airgeeker@aol.com>; "Brian Webb, personal"
    <kd6nrp@earthlink.net>; "CASTRO, Mr. Ordons" <gordons@moreland.k12.ca.us>;
    "Denni Medlock" <DMedlock@ChabotSpace.org>; "Don Machholz"
    <DonM353259@aol.com>; "Don Saito" <donsaito@pacbell.net>; "Donaldson Family"
    <mlagmg@msn.com>; "Ernie Piini" <EWPIINI@aol.com>; "Fudge Sato"
    <MSfdge@aol.com >; "Gary Boroff, FSS" <GBoroff@Filss.com>; "IOTA, David
    Dunham" <dunham@erols.com>; "IOTA, Walt Morgan" <WVM13@aol.com>; "IOTA, PAUL
    MALEY" <pdmaley@yahoo.com>; "Jeff Cuzzi, NASA/Ames"
    <jcuzzi@mail.arc.nasa.gov>; "John Briggs" <jwb@hale.yerkes.uchicago.edu>;
    "Jim Richardson, hotel" <BelvoirSprings@aol.com>; "Karen Shannette"
    <SHANNETK@tycoelectronics.com>; "Kevin Sato" <ksato@mail.arc.nasa.gov>;
    "Latimer, Mr. Furgurson" <rfurgurson@moreland.k12.ca.us>; "Lori & Joe Bauer"
    <bauerjm@att.net>; "Motooka Family Home" <motofamily@att.net>; "Rick
    Riccardi" <RARiccardi@cs.com>; "Roy Smith, Home" <rocketroy@aol.com>; "Rick
    Bailey" <bailey-r@fkdelvotecusa.com>; "SJ Merc, Glennda Chui"
    <gchui@sjmercury.com>; "SJAA, Jim Van Nuland" <jvn@svpal.org>; "Stanton,
    Merv" <merv@best.com>; "Trevor Sawyer" <Sawyer-T@FKDelvotecUSA.com>;
    "Wreckch, Jim Rowan" <wrecks4u@evansinet.com>; "Wreckch, Don Jordan"
    <Donjordan5@netscape.net>; "Wreckch, Craig Fuller" <aair@juno.com>;
    "Wreckch, G.P. Macha" <pat@aircraftwrecks.com>
    Sent: Sunday, February 02, 2003 1:51 PM
    Subject: STS-107 from Mt. Hamilton pictures posted
    
    
    > Hello all.
    >
    > It's been a very busy 36 hours trying to get data reduced and info to NASA
    > on the video and pictures I took.
    >
    > The two still photos I took from Mt. Hamilton (right next to the 40" dome
    at
    > Lick Observatory -- coords  N37 20.498'  W121 38.579'  Alt 4230feet
    WGS84
    > datum) have been scanned (rather poorly by myself, I might add!) and
    > annotated.  I've posted them at:
    >
    > http://photos.yahoo.com/rickbaldridge
    >
    > Click on "Astronomy Stuff" album.
    >
    > I won't speculate at this point -- we've had quite enough of that already.
    > Let's just say the photos, videos and eyewitness accounts definitely show
    > that something was amiss while COLUMBIA was over California.  With this
    > being my 4th observed reentry, I have a lot of experience looking over
    > photos and videos that I've taken and nothing unusual showed on the
    previous
    > three.
    >
    > Funny thing was, several of us who saw STS-107 Saturday morning didn't see
    > anything we would call really "unusual" using the naked-eye .  The only
    > comments were that the "color" seemed a bit off, perhaps more "orange",
    but
    > that could be explained by a variety of causes.  Only later when we looked
    > at the video and developed the slides did we see something funny was going
    > on.  This leads me to believe that the average eye-witness in California
    may
    > not have seen something going on when in fact it was.  Hooray for video
    > cameras.  (Just ask Rodney King!)
    >
    >
    > More later.
    >
    > RICK BALDRIDGE
    >
    >
    >
    
    -----------------------------------------------------------------
    Unsubscribe from SeeSat-L by sending a message with 'unsubscribe'
    in the SUBJECT to SeeSat-L-request@lists.satellite.eu.org
    http://www.satellite.eu.org/seesat/seesatindex.html
    



    This archive was generated by hypermail 2b29 : Sun Feb 02 2003 - 20:47:01 EST