Launches

finn@main.jetnet.ab.ca
Sat, 6 Feb 1999 12:11:57 -0700 (MST)

I got this from http://www.flatoday.com/space/ 

February 6, 1999
Launch Time 4:06:42 p.m. EST (21:06:42 GMT)

------------------------------------------------------------------------

A Boeing Delta 2 rocket is slated to launch NASA's Stardust spacecraft 
on Feb. 6. 

Liftoff from pad 17A at Cape Canaveral Air Station, Fla., is planned at 
an instantaneous launch time of 4:06:42 p.m. EST (2106:42 GMT). 

Destined for a close encounter with the comet Wild 2 in January 2004, 
Stardust will collect particles flying off the nucleus of the comet for 
return to Earth. The spacecraft will also sample of interstellar dust. 
These materials consist of ancient pre-solar interstellar grains and 
other remnants left over from the formation of the solar system. The 
captured samples will arrive back on Earth aboard a capsule in January 
2006. 

Delta 266 will fly in the 7426 vehicle configuration, a three-stage 
rocket with four strap-on solid rocket motors and Star 37FM third stage. 

Satellite broadcast information
Satellite dish owners will see a live feed of this launch via NASA 
Television on GE-2, Transponder 9, C-band

At SECO-1, the vehicle is in a 100-nmi circular orbit with an inclination of
28.45 degress. There is a another launch, an Air Force Delta 2 rocket
carrying three research satellites Sunday Feb 7 at 5:39 a.m. EST (1039 GMT)
from Vandenberg Air Force Base, Calif. At SECO 1, vehicle in 96 x
460-nautical mile orbit inclined at 98.84 degrees 

Jari