Mir, Progress M-39 Pass

Mir16609@aol.com
Wed, 12 Aug 1998 23:12:45 EDT

Hello Everyone,

This evening featured a two-for-one near-vertical pass - Progress M-39 (25340)
and the Mir.  

As the 2 objects approached the handle of the Big Dipper (20:54:10 EDT;
00:54:10 UT, 13 August) I timed the separation between the two at 14 seconds
with the Progress leading.  After passing through the handle the Mir stayed at
a steady -2.0 mag (no flares tonight).  The Progress was clearly visible at 1x
from directly overhead (98.8 deg el) until it was well below Altair (20:57:00
EDT; 00:57:00 UT, 13 August).  I estimated the brightness to be about +2.0.  

Cheers
Don Gardner
Homepage: http://members.aol.com/mir16609/
39.1804N, 76.8419W 34m ASL