Obs 3 August 1998

jeff@satellite.eu.org (Mir16609@aol.com)
Tue, 4 Aug 1998 00:01:16 EDT

Hello Everyone.

Tonight was a night for flares and flashes (glints?)

Cosmos 1340 r (13068)
This object flared to a +1.0 as it passed over Arcturus at 21:18:50 EDT
(01:18:50 UT, 4 August).

Iridium 71 (25320)
This object gave two short, bright flashes one at 21:25:39 EDT one at 21:25:49
EDT  (01:25:39+49 UT, 4 August). The flashes were -3 or brighter.  

Iridium 46 
This object gave two short, bright flashes one at 21:40:10 EDT one at 21:41:19
EDT  (01:40:10+19 UT, 4 August). The flashes were -2 or brighter.  

UARS (21701)
UARS flared to a -2 mag for about 5 seconds - 21:51:30-35 EDT (01:51:30-35 UT,
4 August) as it approached Altair.

USA 86 (22251)
USA 86 flared to a -3 for at 21:53:10-13 EDT (01:53:10-13 UT, 4 August) as it
passed just over beta-Peg.

USA 32 (19460)
USA 32 sparkled in the +1 mag range for about 3 seconds beginning 22:04:36 EDT
(02:04:36 UT, 4 August).

SL-16 R/B (25407)
I observed 22 maxima in 60 seconds beginning at 22:56:00 EDT  (02:56:00 UT, 4
August). The brightness varied from +1.5 to +3.5.

Iridium 27 (24047)
There was a short "monster" flash (-6 mag) at 23:15:41 EDT (03:15:41, UT 4
August).

Cheers.
Don Gardner
Homepage: http://members.aol.com/mir16609/
76.8419 W, 39.1796 N,  34m ASL