Shuttle Landing Question

From: Jonathan T Wojack (tlj18@juno.com)
Date: Fri Apr 19 2002 - 16:54:37 EDT

  • Next message: Daniel Deak: "Disco balls TLE, Apr. 19"

    Hello,
    
    I just got this from NASA:
    
    > VEHICLE: Atlantis/OV-104
    >     KSC LAUNCH DATE:  Monday, April 8, 2002
    >     LAUNCH TIME: 4:44:19 p.m. 
    >     KSC LANDING DATE: April 19 at 12:27 p.m.
    > MISSION DURATION: 10 days/19 hours/43 minutes/48 seconds 
    > CREW: Bloomfield, Frick, Ross, Smith, Ochoa, Morin, Walheim 
    
    Shortly before that, I got this from Dave Ransom:
    
    >19 APR 02  Atlantis landed safely at KSC today. The approximate
    >           landing times:
    >
    >            Main Gear:     12:26:57 EDT   16:26:57 UTC  10/19:42:38 MET
    >            Nose Gear:     12:27:09 EDT   16:27:09 UTC  10/19:42:50 MET
    >            Wheel Stop:    12:28:07 EDT   16:28:07 UTC  10/19:43:48 MET
    
    My question is this:  at what time is the Space Shuttle Orbiter
    considered to have landed?  Is it when the main gear touches the runway? 
    I would personally think that it would be when you have wheel stop
    confirmation.  The Shuttle is still moving at a good pace, and the
    mission isn't technically over yet.  The parachute has to be released,
    among other things.
    
    ------------------------------
    Jonathan T. Wojack                 tlj18@juno.com
    39.706d N   75.683d W            4 hours behind UT (-4)
    
    
    ________________________________________________________________
    GET INTERNET ACCESS FROM JUNO!
    Juno offers FREE or PREMIUM Internet access for less!
    Join Juno today!  For your FREE software, visit:
    http://dl.www.juno.com/get/web/.
    
    -----------------------------------------------------------------
    Unsubscribe from SeeSat-L by sending a message with 'unsubscribe'
    in the SUBJECT to SeeSat-L-request@lists.satellite.eu.org
    http://www.satellite.eu.org/seesat/seesatindex.html
    



    This archive was generated by hypermail 2b29 : Fri Apr 19 2002 - 19:13:43 EDT