Re: Can Someone Predict This?

Date: Tue Apr 16 2002 - 09:43:13 EDT

  • Next message: Edward S Light: "Re: Can Someone Predict This?"

    In a message dated Tue, 16 Apr 2002  8:38:14 AM Eastern Daylight Time, Art Glick <> writes:
    >I'd like to tell me friends and neighbors to take a look, but now I'm not 
    >sure when to tell them to look.  Our own location (in decimal) is 38.067 
    >North, 80.434 West, and I'll bet that some of you all could tell me where 
    >and when to look with even more accuracy that H-A and Skywatch combined!
    >In particular, I'd be very interested in knowing what some of you would 
    >expect to see in terms of the amount of separation between the two objects.
    This will be a great pass for the NE USA (20:45 EDT (UTC - 4
    hrs), 17 April).  
    At your location the pass will be NW to SE and pass directly
    overhead.  Look for the 2 at 20:46:00 EDT (00:46:00 UTC)to be
    rising a few degrees right of alpha Perseus.  At 20:47:30 EDT
    (00:47:30) it should be directly overhead.  Do not worry about
    being too precise with the time or location in the sky.  You
    should have 2 objects about as bright as Jupiter passing over
    you.   The precise seperation is difficult to predict.  On past
    missions I've seen the seperation as little as 2-3 seconds and
    as much as 30 seconds (1 sec is *roughly* 1 deg of arc) -
    Atlantis will be in the lead.
    For the Baltimore-Washington Area the pair will pass R->L under
    the Moon at 20:47:00 EDT (00:47:00 UTC) and just past alpha
    Canis Minor (Procyon)at 20:47:50 EDT (00:47:50 UTC).
    Don Gardner  39.1799 N, 76.8406 W, 100m ASL
    Unsubscribe from SeeSat-L by sending a message with 'unsubscribe'
    in the SUBJECT to

    This archive was generated by hypermail 2b29 : Tue Apr 16 2002 - 09:44:10 EDT