On Wed, 4 Apr 2001 08:03:26 -0500, you ("Allen Thomson"
<thomsona@flash.net>) wrote:
>Just tried to go to Heavens Above, got the following:
>"HACKED by EBOLA - EBOLA division from CZECH republic - - for Veronica: I
>LOVE YOU - - for Veronica: I LOVE YOU -"
Yup. The direct entry over the main.asp to the user's location however
worked okay when I checked.
>Does anybody know if this presents a danger to the user (e.g., me)?
No, everything's fine. It could have gotten a little nasty if there were
for instance some malicious JavaScript, Java or especially ActiveX-stuff
(it's usually not necessarily a bad idea to have that turned off while
surfing, in this order), but this was not the case here. It was a pretty
simple and rather lame hack anyway, after all.
>Any precautions to be taken other than running antivirus programs?
Yes: running two or more antivirus programs. :) One alone is prone to
missing actual malware ("false negative") or reporting one where there is
none ("false positive"). Have one online-scanner running (if you feel
that's a good idea, I for one don't like them), and scan your harddrives
_regularly_ with a couple more different scanners from other manufacturers,
_with fresh signature data files_. And, for a general advice, of course
always be careful with what unknown software from dubious sources you run
on your machine, but that should go without saying anyway.
CU! Markus
-----------------------------------------------------------------
Unsubscribe from SeeSat-L by sending a message with 'unsubscribe'
in the SUBJECT to SeeSat-L-request@lists.satellite.eu.org
http://www2.satellite.eu.org/seesat/seesatindex.html
This archive was generated by hypermail 2b29 : Wed Apr 04 2001 - 16:12:27 PDT