Iridium 27 Obs.

Mir16609 (Mir16609@aol.com)
Sat, 11 Apr 1998 23:54:11 EDT

Hello All,

Iridium 27 (24947, 97051D) flashed in the negative magnitude range for the
last two evenings.  Both were similar passes - beginning in the NNW at about
the same time.  

On Friday evening the pass began at 21:53 EDT (01:53 UT 11 April).  The
flashes were in the -2 to -3 range until it reached about 30 deg above the
horizon.  The maximum brightness faded to about  a +1.  The flashes were
anywhere from 3 to 6 seconds apart.   

On Saturday the pass began about 21:50 EDT (01:50 UT 12 April).  The flashes
were in the -2 range and were about 3 seconds apart early in the pass and
about 6 seconds apart at the shadow exit. 

Because of the MMAs, the flashes appear to be like a strobe.  They are not the
least bit "gradual" in the increase in brightness.  It looks like a firefly as
it moves across the sky.

Cheers.
Don Gardner
Homepage: http://members.aol.com/mir16609/
76.8419 W, 39.1796 N,  34m ASL